News & Announcements Archive

Search Our Archives

Rebekka Klausen Receives 2017 Marion Milligan Mason Award

Rebekka Klausen

Congratulations to Professor Klausen, who was awarded the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) 2017 Marion Milligan Mason Awards for Women in the Chemical Sciences. First awarded in 2015 and funded by the Marion Milligan Mason Fund, the Awards are designed to kick start the research efforts of early-career professional women in the chemical sciences. The […]

Lawrence Principe Receives 2016 Prix Franklin-Lavoisier

Congratulations to Dr. Principe for receiving the 2016 Prix-Franklin Lavoisier from La Fondation de la Maison de la Chimie! The prize recognizes Dr. Principe for his outstanding contribution to the knowledge of the history of chemical sciences. He will receive the prize during a formal ceremony in Paris on November 9th, 2016.

Bragg Group Publishes in Journal of Physical Chemistry Letters

Congratulations to the Bragg Group, whose article “Ultrafast Raman Spectroscopy as a Probe of Local Structure and Dynamics in Photoexcited Conjugated Materials” was featured on the cover of the October issue of The Journal of Physical Chemistry Letters!

2016 Graduate Awards

On behalf of the Awards Committee (Professors Dagdigian, Yarkony, and Fairbrother), I am pleased to announce the following student awards and fellowships. Please join me in congratulating the awardees on their outstanding accomplishments. – Ken Karlin, Chair Sarah and Adolph Roseman Achievement Award – $1000, in recognition of outstanding research accomplishment in chemistry. 2016 Awardee […]

Professor Klausen Honored for Outstanding Research With Undergraduates

Rebekka Klausen

Assistant professor Rebekka S. Klausen is the 2016 recipient of the Braude Award from the Maryland Section of the American Chemical Society. The Braude Award, established by Drs. George and Monique Braude, recognizes a professor at a Maryland college or university pursuing outstanding research with students. Professor Klausen will present a seminar describing her research […]

Catalyst and Discovery Award Recipients in Chemistry

Congratulations to our colleagues Art Bragg and Tyrel McQueen, who are among the 2016-2017 cohort who have been selected to receive Johns Hopkins Catalyst Awards, “an honor that is accompanied by a $75,000 grant, mentoring opportunities, and institutional recognition.” Additionally, three interdisciplinary teams with representatives from Chemistry were just announced to be Johns Hopkins category 1 […]

In Memoriam: Dr. Justine Roth

It is with deep regret that we must inform you of Dr. Justine Roth’s passing this week. She was an associate professor in the Department of Chemistry. Dr. Roth’s family, students, and departmental colleagues have been notified. Dr. Roth began working at Johns Hopkins in 2003. Her research – described as relevant to health, energy and the environment – […]

Rigoberto Hernandez Receives 2016 TREE Award

Congratulations to Dr. Rigoberto Hernandez for receiving the 2016 Research Corporation for Science Advancement (RCSA) Transformative Research and Excellence in Education (TREE) Award! His award lecture, “My Science, My Outreach, My Life,” will be given Thursday, July 14th at the Cottrell Scholar Conference in Tuscon, Arizona, just days after starting on our faculty. The RCSA […]

Chemistry Department Summer 2016 Newsletter

Chemistry Department Summer 2016 Newsletter

After an unduly long break, JHU Chemistry has released its Summer 2016 newsletter! Since we are playing catch up since our last newsletter in 2012, it is a bit longer than usual, covering news and updates from 2013 to present. Be on the lookout for our next newsletter in Winter 2016!

Max Holl Published in Angewandte Chemie

Congratulations to Max Holl and his labmates in the Lectka Group for their recent paper appearing in Angewandte Chemie entitled Positioning a Carbon–Fluorine Bond over the π Cloud of an Aromatic Ring: A Different Type of Arene Activation. The paper was highlighted on the cover of the journal as well as in C&E News.