News & Announcements

Thoi group sweeps up prizes at the 2018 Young Researcher Conference

Congratulations to Sam Goldschmid and Avery Baumann for winning the Best Poster Award and Best Speaker Award, respectively, at the Young Researcher Conference hosted by Alliance for Diversity for Science and Engineering! Avery was one of six student speakers and Sam was competing with both graduate and undergraduate students.

Intrinsic Structural Flexibility in Pyrochlores

McQueen Materials & Inorganic
The McQueen Lab reports the observation of inherent structural disorder in pyrochlores. The universality of local displacements within the pyrochlore structure adds to the known structural diversity and explains the extreme sensitivity to composition found in quantum spin ices and the lack of ferroelectric behavior in pyrochlores. For more information, please visit Nature Communications.

Hernandez Lab Featured on the Cover of Chemical Physics Letters

Congratulations to Prof. Hernandez and his postdoc Dr. Rakesh Singh, for having their article published in the newest edition of Chemical Physics Letters. Their research has been featured on the cover of the September 16th issue. Singh and Hernandez have shown that a simplified stochastic model can be used to describe the structure of hard-core soft shell […]

Hernandez named 2018 SERMACS Stan Israel Award Winner

Congratulations to prof. Rigoberto Hernandez for being selected as the winner for the 2018 SERMACS Stan Israel Award! The Stanley C. Israel Regional Award recognizes individuals and/or institutions who have advanced diversity in the chemical sciences and significantly stimulated or fostered activities that promote inclusiveness within the region.