News & Announcements Archive

Search Our Archives

Stephen Fried to Join Chemistry Faculty in Summer 2018

Steven Fried

The Chemistry Department is pleased to announce that Dr. Stephen Fried will join the faculty as an Assistant Professor, starting in the summer of 2018. Stephen studied chemistry at MIT, graduating in 2009 with degrees in chemistry and physics, and completed his doctoral training at Stanford under the mentorship of Prof. Steven G. Boxer in […]

Miranda J. Gallagher and David A. Quist Receive Dean’s Teaching Fellowship


Congratulations to Miranda J. Gallagher of the Fairbrother Lab and David A. Quist of the Karlin Lab for receiving the Dean’s Teaching Fellowship! Gallagher will be teaching Chemistry in Art and Archaeology (AS.030.117). Quist will be teaching Metalloproteins and Their Role in Human Disease (AS.030.213). Registration is now open for these undergraduate courses offered Fall 2017.

Four From Chemistry Nominated for Excellence in Teaching Awards

Four members of the Chemistry Department have been chosen as finalists for this year’s Excellence in Teaching Awards for the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences. They are: Dr. Christopher Falzone, Teaching Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies, was nominated in the category of Undergraduate Advising. Dr. Jane Greco, Associate Teaching Professor, was nominated for […]

Rigoberto Hernandez Receives 2017 Herty Medal

Congratulations to Professor Rigoberto Hernandez, who is the recipient of the 2017 Herty Medal as awarded by the Georgia Section of the American Chemical Society. The medal recognizes outstanding work and service by a chemist in the Southeast. Prof. Hernandez is Gompf Family Professor at Johns Hopkins University and Adjunct Professor at Georgia Institute of Technology. He […]

Dr. Klausen Named Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow, Featured in New York Times

Congratulations to Dr. Bekka Klausen! The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, with a full-page advertisement in today’s New York Times, named Bekka Klausen one of the 2017 Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellows in Chemistry. The Sloan Fellowship recognizes distinguished performance and a unique potential to make substantial contributions to the Fellow’s field.

Kit Bowen Wins 2017 PHYS Award in Experimental Physical Chemistry

Congratulations to our colleague Professor Kit Bowen, who was just named as the winner of the 2017 Award in Experimental Physical Chemistry, by the American Chemical Society’s Division of Physical Chemistry (PHYS). The award is being given for his research group’s “seminal studies of molecular and cluster anions by negative ion photoelectron (photodetachment) spectroscopy“. At this […]

Ben Crane Featured in Baltimore Sun

Congratulations to Ben Crane of the Tolman Lab, whose intersession course “Food Fermentation: Theory and Insight” received an extensive write-up in the Baltimore Sun!

Rigoberto Hernandez Wins ACS Board of Directors Re-election

Congratulations to Dr. Hernandez for winning re-election to the American Chemical Society Board of Directors! Dr. Hernandez beat Larry K. Krannich, executive director of the Alabama Academy of Science in Birmingham, by over 100 votes for District IV Director. He will serve his second term as Director from 2017 to 2019.

Rigoberto Hernandez NSF Lecture Now Online

On April 25th, 2016, Dr. Rigoberto Hernandez presented a lecture as part of the NSF Distinguished Lecture Series in Mathematical and Physical Sciences. His lecture, titled “Advancing Science Through Diversity,” is now available to watch online.

Rebekka Klausen Receives 2017 Marion Milligan Mason Award

Rebekka Klausen

Congratulations to Professor Klausen, who was awarded the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) 2017 Marion Milligan Mason Awards for Women in the Chemical Sciences. First awarded in 2015 and funded by the Marion Milligan Mason Fund, the Awards are designed to kick start the research efforts of early-career professional women in the chemical sciences. The […]