News & Announcements Archive

Four From Chemistry Nominated for Excellence in Teaching Awards

Four members of the Chemistry Department have been chosen as finalists for this year’s Excellence in Teaching Awards for the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences. They are: Dr. Christopher Falzone, Teaching Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies, was nominated in the category of Undergraduate Advising. Dr. Jane Greco, Associate Teaching Professor, was nominated for […]

Rigoberto Hernandez Receives 2017 Herty Medal

Congratulations to Professor Rigoberto Hernandez, who is the recipient of the 2017 Herty Medal as awarded by the Georgia Section of the American Chemical Society. The medal recognizes outstanding work and service by a chemist in the Southeast. Prof. Hernandez is Gompf Family Professor at Johns Hopkins University and Adjunct Professor at Georgia Institute of Technology. He […]

Dr. Klausen Named Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow, Featured in New York Times

Congratulations to Dr. Bekka Klausen! The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, with a full-page advertisement in today’s New York Times, named Bekka Klausen one of the 2017 Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellows in Chemistry. The Sloan Fellowship recognizes distinguished performance and a unique potential to make substantial contributions to the Fellow’s field.

Kit Bowen Wins 2017 PHYS Award in Experimental Physical Chemistry

Congratulations to our colleague Professor Kit Bowen, who was just named as the winner of the 2017 Award in Experimental Physical Chemistry, by the American Chemical Society’s Division of Physical Chemistry (PHYS). The award is being given for his research group’s “seminal studies of molecular and cluster anions by negative ion photoelectron (photodetachment) spectroscopy“. At this […]

Rebekka Klausen Receives 2017 Marion Milligan Mason Award

Rebekka Klausen

Congratulations to Professor Klausen, who was awarded the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) 2017 Marion Milligan Mason Awards for Women in the Chemical Sciences. First awarded in 2015 and funded by the Marion Milligan Mason Fund, the Awards are designed to kick start the research efforts of early-career professional women in the chemical sciences. The […]

Lawrence Principe Receives 2016 Prix Franklin-Lavoisier

Congratulations to Dr. Principe for receiving the 2016 Prix-Franklin Lavoisier from La Fondation de la Maison de la Chimie! The prize recognizes Dr. Principe for his outstanding contribution to the knowledge of the history of chemical sciences. He will receive the prize during a formal ceremony in Paris on November 9th, 2016.